Governor's Trailblazer Awards for Women in Business 

A Wisconsin Women's Council Program
Established 2007

Award Programs and Recipients

 2007 | 2009 | 2012 | 2014 | 2016 | 2018| Next: 2020

 Award Categories 

Special Recognition

 Award Eligibility 

The Trailblazer Awards are open to women business owners of companies: 

  1. with sole or majority (51% or more) ownership held by one woman, two or more women, or a series of women consecutively over the period, of the same company; 

  2. headquartered and registered in the State of Wisconsin;
  3. in compliance and good-standing with all applicable government legal, regulatory and program requirements; and 

  4. that meet criteria 1 through 3, plus meet the specific period required for a Pioneer or Thrive Award, or the generational component required for a Torchbearer Award, or "number of employees" component for Forward Award: 

    • Pioneer Award:  majority woman-owned, by one or more women or a series of women, continuously for the past 25 years or more
    • Thrive Award: as above, for the past 50 years or more 
    • Torchbearer Award: currently 3rd generation or more, family-owned business, now majority woman-owned by a female relative of the founder
    • Forward Award: 100 or more full-time equivalent employees

  5. Special Recognition Awards are nominated through a partnership with the Wisconsin Women's Business Initiative Corporation (WWBIC).
 Who can nominate a business owner? 

Individuals and organizations, including business and professional associations, chambers of commerce, elected officials, employees and other friends or colleagues are all invited to a business owner for Wisconsin's Governor’s Trailblazer Awards for Women in Business.  

Business owners are also invited to self-nominate.

 How to nominate a business owner. 

Open Nomination period for the 2020 Trailblazer Awards will run from September to December 2019. Watch this space for details.

Have a suggestion or tip you want to share? Contact:

An online nomination form will be available during the Open Nomination period. 

 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 

Follow Trailblazer News and Awards on Facebook and Twitter

Trailblazer Sponsors

BMO Logo.jpg 

BMO Harris Bank is the lead corporate sponsor for the Governor's Trailblazer Awards for Women in Business & host of the Governor's Trailblazer Awards Reception

 WWBIC_Logo_2015_wTagline web.jpg          doa logo vsmall.jpg   Widget Logo 2 color.jpg   WMC_logo_blue-SM.jpg 

The Governor's Trailblazer Awards are a program of the Wisconsin Women's Council,

in partnership with the Offices of the Governor and Lieutenant Governor.